It’s been a long time coming, but in one month’s time my new ERTH DRAGONS series will be upon us.  Book one is called THE WEARLE.  This little blog is dedicated to the series.  If you want to know more about me and my other books, you can always have a look at my official website: icefire.co.uk

I thought I was done with dragons when I finished The Fire Ascending, the seventh and final book of The Last Dragon Chronicles.  If I’m honest, I never really planned to write about the scaly beasts in the first place.  It was pure serendipity that kicked it all off.  But they’ve fascinated me now for the last … fifteen years or so, and I couldn’t quite escape their influence, even in my interim series The UNICORNE Files, which has a growing dragon theme.  People in publishing also kept telling me, ‘Dragons are dead.  They’re yesterday’s thing.  Write something different.’  I could see the wisdom in that, for certain topics clearly go in ‘phases’, but that line of thinking never quite tallied with the fan mail I was receiving for the Chronicles.  People clearly LOVED Dragons and wanted more of them.  So what the heck; I wrote THE WEARLE.

Followers of the Chronicles will know that ‘wearle’ is just my name for a colony of dragons.  I won’t go into the whole story here.  Click along the top bar and have a look at the ‘About’ section etc.  The glossary is an interesting read in itself.  It will give you some idea of the world we’re in.  It’s pretty much ‘Earth’ – but not quite as we know it.  Hence the reason for dropping the second vowel.  To be honest, I’ve never been one for ‘world building’.  I greatly admire people like Philip Reeve who are excellent at inventing interesting places and conjuring up wonderful devices to fill those places with; I simply don’t have a big enough imagination for it.  I write best, I think, when I’m close to some sort of familiar domesticity.  The Wearle’s setting is a bit outside my comfort zone, but the dragons are plentiful and the drama is intense.  So prepare to be drawn in.

I’ve been given permission to put up a sample chapter, which I’ll release a bit nearer the publication date of the UK hardback on October 1st.  In the meantime, you can read the prologue, which neatly sets up the basic story.  To get the true flavour of the book you need to meet Gabrial, G’vard, Grymric, Gossana and the many other dragons who populate the Wearle.  That’s coming, I promise.  For now, enjoy discovering how the universe came into being (ahem).  Till the next time.  Happy reading.  Hrrr!

