It’s that time of year again.  Happy Christmas everyone!

It’s been a few months since I posted anything so I thought I’d bring the blog up to date with where I am with Dark Wyng, the sequel to The Wearle.  I’m going to tell you right away, this hasn’t been an easy book to write.  The Wearle was amazing.  It almost fell out of the keyboard.  But Dark Wyng has been a real struggle.  And I have no idea why.  Some of the scenes in it are really good, on a par with, if not better than, the first book.  But somehow the story hasn’t really gelled like The Wearle.  Still, the good news is the book is written, and manuscripts always improve massively at the editing stage, which is where I’m at now.  I expect to finish editing by about the end of January.  By then I’ll have a pretty good idea of where to go next.  So think of me this Christmas, sitting in my room by flickering candlelight, wearing a pencil down to the nub as I cross out sentences and scribble new ones in their place.  Okay, it’s not quite as Dickensian as that, but I will be working during the holiday, and so will Jay – it’s a tradition in this house!

Have a great time, everyone.  Very soon now the cover of Dark Wyng will be finished and I’ll be able to post the artwork here.  Don’t miss the paperback of The Wearle in April.  All the best from me for 2015.  Hrrr!

 

